Thursday, 15 August 2013

Odesk Test Answers MSWORD 2003

To find the answer press CTRL+F in your keyboard and type the word(s) you want to find.

How can you create a box around the text that is placed on a web page,  as shown in the figure? 
Ans: Draw a rectangle around the text using the rectangle drawing tool.

A documents having many paragraphs, the appearance of the documents can be improved by increasing the spacing between paragraphs. Where in word, is the built-in option that allows you to add such space? 
Ans: Click on Format- Paragraph;   go to the Spacing section and change the “Before”  and  “After “ fields.

State whether the following statement is true or false.
Once a macro is running,  it is not possible to stop it.
Ans: False

What is the tab stop in Word 2003? 
Ans: A position you set for placing and aligning text on a page.

Where is the mail Merge feature located in the main menu? 
Ans:  In the Tools menu

How can you insert a sound file in a Word 2003 Document? 
Ans: From the Insert > Object menu option

Which font effect has been applied on the text shown in the figure?
Ans: Emboss

When you right-click on a cell of a table drawn in a Word 2003 document, you can see the properties and options and figure. The Split Cells option has been highlighted in the figure. What is the function this option
Ans: It allows you to divide an existing cell of a table into more rows and columns.

Can you give a 3-D (3-Dimensional) effect to your text and, graphics using Word 2003?
Ans: Yes

Which feature of Word 2003 allows you to use information from two different files for the quick creation correspondence and other documents like interview letters and invitations? 
Ans: Mail Merge

If the word “trick” is displayed on the screen, with the cursor between the letters ‘i’ and ‘c’ and the Delete key is pressed.  said word appear on the screen? 
Ans: trik

How can you create a non-breaking hyphen? 
Ans: Press CTRL+SHIFT+HYPHEN   ­

When you left-click on the Insert menu option and click Page Numbers, a pop up window opens. Which of the following  is/are available in the pop-up menu?
Ans: Position


What does the CTRL+B shortcut accomplish in Word 2003?
Ans: It makes the selected text bold.

State Whether True or False
You can open the Find and Replace dialog box by pressing the CTRL+F key combination
Ans: True

Can you insert a new table inside a cell of an existing table in your word 2003 document.
Ans: Yes

The figure shows the edit tab under the Tool >Options menu The Enable click and type Options has been checked what does the this potation performs. 
Ans:  Its allows you to quickly insert text, graphics, table or other items in a blank area of a document.

Which of the following functions is used to replace quotes (“) will smart quotes (“) in the text documents.
Ans: Tools> Auto format

The figure shows the Margins tab under the File > Page Setup menu. The gutter margin has been set at 0.1″. What is a gutter margin? 
Ans: Some extra space added to the right margin of the page required for cutting the page into even sizes at the time of binding.

The title bar is present at the top of the Microsoft Word 2003 window.  What does it contain at the left corner?
 Ans: Maximize Button

Which of the following are valid sources for storing the addressee information required for Word 2003 mail merge?
Ans: All of above

What are sections used for in a Word 2003 document?
Ans: They are used to divide the document into parts so that each part may be independently printed when the print command is given.

What does the CTRL+U shone accomplish in Word 2003? 
Ans: It underlines the selected word

What is the function of AutoSummarize feature in Word 2003? 
Ans:  It summarizes the statistics of the document into a report, such as total words,  total characters, total pages, total  paragraphs, file size etc. 

How can you resize the width or height of a picture in a Word 2003 document?  Select all of the answers below that  apply. 
Ans: By right-clicking on the picture and, from the Format Picture floating menu, choose the “Size” tab.


What does the CIRL+I shortcut accomplish in Word 2003? 
Ans:  It applies italic formatting to the selected text.

What is the method to disable the Reading Layout feature and open documents in the default (Print Layout)?
Ans: Click the Tools menu and choose Options; when the Options multi-tabbed dialog box appears, click General. Uncheck ‘Allow Starting in Reading Layout.” Click OK.

You want to view a document in the Reading Layout view. What will you do?
Ans: Press ALT+R

A paragraph can be made to stand out from the rest of the document by giving it a border or shading. How can you give a (selected) paragraph a special shade?
Ans: Select Format > Borders and Shading. Select the Shading tab. Select the Color and click OK.

What will you do to print an A5-size (148mm x 210mm) document on A4-size (210 x 297mm) paper? 
Ans: Select File > Print. Under Zoom, specify the paper size in the “Scale to Paper Size” list as A4.

Can you change the background picture of a Word 2003 Theme that has been applied to a page?
Ans: Yes

What are bookmarks used for? 
Ans:  To quickly jump to a specific location in the document.

Normally when you click on the File menu, Microsoft Word 2003 shows you the names of the last four files used. How can that be increased? 
Ans:  Under Tools > Options: click the General tab. Increase the number on the “Recently Used File List” option.

The given figure shows the reviewing toolbar. What function is performed by the button marked by the letter X.
Ans:  It allows you to highlight the selected text or graphic in a document.

The fiqure shows the Save As dialog box under File menu. The Save As type has been specified as XML document and them apply transfrom option has been checked (selected). What does this mean.
Ans: It allows you to change the author name for the XML file.

In Microsoft word 2003, you can easily created bulleted or numbered lists of items. What is the method for removing the numbering. 
Ans: Highlight the number list choose formats > Bullets and numbers from the menu and click none click ok.

State whether the following statement is true or False.
It is possible to add custom words to the dictionary that Word 2003 uses to check spelling errors in document.
Ans: True

There are over a hundred predefined formatting styles in Word 2003 to choose from. However, only a small number of them are displayed in the default list of styles. If you want to see all formatting styles (both predefined and customized), you could:
Ans: Press the SHIFT key and click the arrow on the Style drop-down menu button on the formatting toolbar.

Wrapping Styles can be used to modify the layout of text in relation to a graphic. Which style wraps the text around a graphic in a irregular bounding the actual image? (the graphic will move as text is added or deleted.
Ans: in line with text

Which word 2003 toolbar is show in the figure? 
In Microsoft word 2003, you can easily created bulleted or numbered lists of items. What is the method for removing the numbering. 
Ans: Highlight the number list choose formats > Bullets and numbers from the menu and click none click ok.

Which word 2003 toolbar is show in the figure? 
Ans: Picture toolbar

State whether True or False.
In a Word 2003 document, if the formatting is restricted, the commands and keyboard shortcuts that apply formatting directly not available.
Ans: True

You are required to prepare an essay in Word 2003 consisting of only 250 words. What is the most convenient way for you to count the total number of words in your document? 
Ans:  Choose the “Word Count” option under the Tools menu.

Odesk Test Answers Excel 2003



An Excel workbook saved in HTML format allows Internet or intranet users to have access to workbook data even if they do not have Excel installed

Ans: True

Once the chart is created, data can only be changed in a chart located in the same worksheet as the changed cells
Ans: False

Certain chart elements automatically inserted in a chart created by Chart Wizard include a chart legend, labels for the x-axis and y-axis, and a chart title
Ans: False

You can double-click a chart element to display the appropriate formatting dialog box.
Ans: True

Time in a cell in Excel is stored as a decimal fraction representing a portion of the day
Ans:True

The PMT function is used to calculate a loan payment based on a variable interest rate, payment, and the time period.
Ans: False

The gridlines that appear on your worksheet will print as displayed.
Ans: False

The FV function is used to calculate the future value of an investment based on a periodic constant payment and interest rate
Ans: True

If the text you entered into a cell does not fit, Excel will display ##### to indicate that the text is too long
Ans: True

By default, data in a cell is centered
Ans: False

When a new row is added into an Excel worksheet, by default, this row will be inserted just below the active cell.
Ans: True

To insert a row, click Insert and then Rows
Ans: True

The Split option causes the worksheet to be split into two window panes.
Ans: False

To select nonadjacent cells, columns, or rows, you must
Ans: hold down the Ctrl key while clicking column, row header, or specific cells

When copying selected cells to a new location, you must position the mouse pointer on any border around the selected cells until it turns into a(n)
Ans: arrow pointer

When data is linked, a change made in a linked cell is automatically made to other cells in the link.
Ans: True

Selected cells and cell contents can be moved or copied within a worksheet but not between worksheets.
Ans: False

What Function does the ‘Compare Side by Side With’ command on the window menu perform?
Ans: It allows you to scroll through two or more workbooks simultaneously

Which of the following functions would return a value of 8?
Ans: round(8.4999,0)

What will be the output of the function IF(ISNA(MODE(B1:B4)),0,MODE(B1:B4)) when it is applied to the data series given bellow?
Ans: 0

Which of the following date and time function will you use to return the serial number of the last day of the month before or after specified number of months?
Ans: EOMONTH

Which of the following shortcuts can be used to insert a new line in the same cell?
Ans: Alt+Enter

Which of the following function you will use to find the highest number in a series of numbers?
Ans: MAX(B1:B3)

Which of the following statements regarding the QUARTILE function is not true?
Ans: The function MEDIAN(array) and QUARTILEarray,2) will return different values when applied to the same array.

You have entered 4/6 as data in a cell without applying any formats to it. By default, Excel will treat this data entry as a:
Ans: Date

This question is based upon the figure shown below
What will be the value in the cell C2 as shown in the figure when we use formula = A2+B2?
Ans: 120

What is the quickest way to select all the columns on a worksheet?
Ans: Click on the gray rectangle on the upper left corner of the worksheet where the column headings and row headings meet

What does the NOW() function returns?
Ans: Returns the serial number of the current date and time

 You would like to restrict the values that can be entered into a cell so that only whole numbers between 1 and 100 can be entered. Which option in the menu allows you to accomplish this?
Ans: The setting tab under the menu Data->Validation

You start Microsoft Excel and you do not want it to automatically run a macro upon starting. What will you do?
Ans: Hold down the CTRL key during startup

How does the AutoComplete feature in Excel help you save time?
Ans: It automatically completes abbreviated words

The figure shows a view of the Standard Toolbar. What function is performed by the button marked by the letter Z?
Ans: It copies the formatting properties from one cell to another

How can you select all the blank cells in your worksheet?
Ans: This must be done manually as it is not automated through any built-in feature

The figure shows an Excel worksheet. If you want to F the row showing the months (row 1) and the column showing the products (column A), what should you do?
Ans: Select the cell A1 and click on Freeze Panes under the menu Window->Freeze Panes

The figure shows a view of the Drawing Toolbar. What function is performed by the button marked by the letter X ?
Ans: It inserts a Diagram or Organization Chart in the worksheet

When using Document Workspaces, you cannot work directly on the Document Workspace copy, but you can work on your own copy which you can update periodically with changes that have been saved to the copy on the Document Workspace site.
Ans: TRUE

What will be the output of the function IF(ISNA(MODE(B1:B4)),0,MODE(B1:B4)) when it is applied to the data series given below?
Ans: #N/A

AutoFilter drop-downs are automatically added in the header row of a list when the list is created.
Ans: TRUE

Which toolbar is shown in the figure?
Ans: Forms toolbar

When you clear the contents from a cell, the formatting of the cell is also lost.
Ans: FALSE

When the AutoSum button is clicked, Excel first looks for a range of numbers above the active cell.
Ans: True

A relative cell reference changes when a formula is copied or moved to other locations.
Ans: True

If cell entries are changed, the formula will automatically recalculate the values and insert the result in the cell containing the formula.
Ans: True

The Merge button on the Formatting toolbar will merge selected cells and right align data within the cells.
Ans: False

To make the image taller or shorter, use the middle sizing handle at the left or right side of the image.
Ans: False

Which of the following is not a tab on the Chart Options dialog box?
Ans: Patterns

This chart is the default chart
Ans: Column Chart


Which of the following displays the contents of the active cell?
Ans: Formula bar

A worksheet is an individual page or tab in the workbook.
Ans: True

You can copy cell formats from one cell to another by using the
Ans: Format Painter

Donelp you do this?
Ans: Select the cells, open the Window menu and click on Hide

The figure shows a view of the Standard Toolbar. What function is performed by the button marked by the letter Y
Ans: It adds up the values in the selected cells

You define a print area in your worksheet, but later you select a smaller range of cells to print and then click Selection under the menu File->Print->Print What->Selection. What will happen?
Ans: The selected area will be printed

By default, how is text horizontally aligned inside a cell in Excel?
Ans: Left aligned

When using the AutoFill handle to quickly fill a range of cells with the same or consecutive data, the cells need not be adjacent as long as they are within the same sheet.
Ans: False

This question is based upon the figure shown bellow
The figure shows an Excel worksheet. What does the read triangle in C2 signify?
Ans: There is a comment associated with the cell

You select the row headings 10, 11 and 12 and then choose the menu option Insert->Rows. What will happen?
Ans: 3 new rows will be inserted after row 9

 A smart tag will be removed from a cell when……………….
Ans: The data in the cell is changed or deleted

The figure shows the AutoFit Selection menu option. What function does it perform?
Ans:  It automatically resizes the column height and width to the minimum necessary to fit the contents of the selected cell

You have created a worksheet which consists of confidential data. You want that these values, although present in the worksheet, should remain hidden and as a result the cells containing this data should appear blank in the worksheet. Which method will help you do this? 
Ans: Select the cells, open the Window menu and click on Hide

Which of the following Date and Time function you will use to return the serial number of the last day of the month before or after a specified number of months?
Ans: DATEVALUE

You define a print area in your worksheet, but later you select a smaller range of cells to print and then click Selection under the menu File->Print->Selection. What will happen?
Ans: b

figure shows a view of the Standard Toolbar. What function is performed by the button marked by the letter 'Z'?
Ans: It copies the formatting properties from one cell to another

The multiplication arithmetic operator is represented by which of the following symbols
Ans: *

To apply page numbering to a worksheet page, which option in the Page Setup dialog box should you choose
Ans: Header/Footer

If a function is included in an argument within a function, it is called a
Ans: Nested Function

If you want row and column headings to print, which tab do you click from the Page Setup dialog box?
Ans: Header/Footer

A new workbook initially contains this many sheets
Ans: Three

You can change the size of an image by using the white sizing handles.
Ans: True

The question is based upon the figure shown
The figure shows a view of the standard Toolbar. What function is performed by the button Marked by the letter Y?
Ans:  Its adds up the values in the selected cells

You have entered test in a cell which is too big for the cell. You want the text to appear in multiple lines inside the same cell. What will you do?
Ans:  Use the wrap txt option in the Format->Cells>Alignment Menu

Which of the following errors appears when an invalid argument is passed while converting a number from one number system to another system?
Ans:  #N/A

Suppose the value in cell A1 is John and B1 is Smith then which of the following function you will use to get John_Smith in Cell C1?
Ans:  = A1&”_”&B1

The figure shows a view of the Standard Toolbar. What function is performed by the button marked by the letter A
Ans: It is used to add a hyperlink

Which of the following options would be used if you need to insert a 77889867810070809 number in a cell?
Ans: Apply the Text Format to empty cells, and then type the numbers

Suppose the value in cell A1 is John and B1 is Smith then which of the following function you will use to get the John_Smith in C1 cell?
Ans: A_B

You can select the current row by pressing  
Ans: Shift + Spacebar

A column is inserted immediately to the left of the column containing the active cell unless you choose otherwise
Ans: True

To delete a specific cell as well as the text within it, make the cell active and then
Ans: click Edit and then Delete

Which of the following is an absolute cell reference
Ans: $B3

How can you select all the blank cells in your worksheet?
Ans: Choose blank in the Edit->Go to->special Menu option

State Whether True or false.
Ans: True

This question is based upon the figure bellow
What does the purple triangle at the bottom right corner of the cell signify?
Ans: Smart Tag

You have created a worksheet which consists a confidential data. You want that these values, although present in the worksheet, should remain hidden and as a result the cells containing this data should appear blank in the worksheet. Which method will help you do this?
Ans: Select the cells, open the Window menu and click on Hide

A document created in Excel is referred to as a
Ans: workbook

Use this handle to automatically insert the next month in the series, January:
Ans: Fill

Which of these operators are in the correct order of operations?
Ans: ^,*,-

To move the insertion point down to the next cell, press:
Ans: Enter

The cell range A3 through G3 should be keyed in as:
Ans: A3:G3

Do you pass the test? Check some links below for the other  odesk test answers.